Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New member Skagit 20 project

Hi Everyone

As you might already guessed my name is Chris and I'm fairly new to boating - started with a Fathers Day gift last year from my wife - an old 14' foot Sangster and became immediately hooked. I sold the 14' foot to buy a 16' foot bowrider with a 1979 Johnson 70 which I then sold at the end of last season to buy a cool 17' ski boat with a late 70's Merc 1150 that needed a complete overhaul. I've nearly finished that boat and am ready to start my 4th and first really true restoration - this Skagit 20 which I found in a tow yard of all places.

[ame="http://s1065.photobucket.com/albums/u382/SNAP_Victoria/Skagit%20Boat%20Restoration/"]Skagit Boat Restoration pictures by SNAP_Victoria - Photobucket[/ame]

I guess you could call it a classic case of two-foot-itis but this is the boat I plan to really take my time with and restore and own for a good long time. I found this forum because I have a lot of questions about this boat which I'm hoping some of you might be able to help with. For starters I'm wondering if any of you might be able to tell from these photos what year this boat is? I'm also interested to know if this is a factory hardtop that you see or if it's something added after-market.

I'll post my other queries in the appropriate areas but from what I've seen there appears to be a lot of knowledge about these Skagit's here and I hope I can tap into a bit of that. I'm located in Victoria, BC and I hope to participate in some of the classic boating events that happen in the Pacific Northwest once I get this baby seaworthy again.

Welcome!!!

Looks like a pretty nice little package... Although what is with the cabin windows? Are those tinted glass that someone painted white on the inside??
    Brian Flaherty

"How can you discover great lands, with your feet planted in the sand"

1969 Chris Craft Cavalier 17 Ski Boat "Tupperware"
    1965 Performer Havoc (sold)

Comment