New owner of 1958 Skagit 16' Ski-Master

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New owner of 1958 Skagit 16' Ski-Master

Howdy folks, new user here just bought the above vessel. Hopefully this boat can handle the San Juan Islands because that's what I bought her for.

So what have others with this boat down for gas tank solutions? The two saddle tanks have been removed on mine and currently using a 6 gallon red plastic gerry can. Thanks,

I have a 1959 Skagit Skimaster. They are a fine boat. Will be fine for the San Juans, Watch the weather and be careful going across the Rosario Straights. I run a 100 HP 1967 Johnson on my Skimaster. I run 2 six gallon tanks strapped to the floor just behind the front seats. With my thirsty 100HP I do go through the gas. On long runs I use my 17ft Skagit that carries 46 gallons of gas with a 140 HP Mercury. I also run a CMC power trim unit on my Skimaster. The Skimaster seems to handle the weight just fine. If you have any soft spots in the floor the 1959 Skimaster has a different stringer set up so be careful and don't step on the high spots. Be happy to answer any question if I am able. Clint
    Attached Files

Comment

Thanks Clint - there is one slight soft spot amidships slightly to starboard in front of the rear seat. hardly perceptable though unless you're looking for it. There is a bit of a crack in the floor fiberglass right down the middle. nothing to bad but it seems more rigid in that region so I'm wondering if it developed due to a stringer underneath there that wasn't flexing as much as the rest of the boat. thoughts? i should snap a photo and attach really.

Comment

Treejay, I use a 50hp Evinrude on a 17 Skagit Express and I usually start out with two 12 gal. tanks but I can hold 66 gal. if I want to by adding three more 12's and a 6. 24 gal. is more than enough for a couple of days out. I would really recommend that you carry at least 24 gal. and don't forget to add Marine Sta Bil to counter Ethanol.