Just Joined

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just Joined

Hello! I'm new to the classic boat hobby, but I've been working with interesting and unique classic cars my whole life. Usually lower budget stuff (which still runs way more money than you expect), ie, no Jaguars or Corvettes.... I like to take things to about 90% done, that way I'm not afraid to enjoy using them in the real world. NO trailer queens.

So my boat is a 1960 Glasspar Marathon 14'. I found it on Craigslist after looking for the "right" project... not too much work, but vintage. Other than some clean up and cosmetics, she was ready to go as purchased. I have replaced all the hardware with new but period look, NOS cable steering parts, and am in the process of adding navigation lighting and gauges.

I decided to power her with a period correct Homelite 55 four stroke outboard. I've had some learning curve there, and been ripped off a couple times already. ( I bought 3 "rebuildable" junk motors... high priced scrap metal and a few small parts), and then bought a running motor "ready to go"..... yeah, right. But I have made progress and have had her out on the Columbia River a half dozen times now.

I'm in Wenatchee, Washngton.

Dave Riker

My Boat.jpg Homelite Wake.jpg
    Helm with New Wheel.jpg Homelite.jpg

Originally posted by davriker View Post
    Hello! I'm new to the classic boat hobby, but I've been working with interesting and unique classic cars my whole life. Usually lower budget stuff (which still runs way more money than you expect), ie, no Jaguars or Corvettes.... I like to take things to about 90% done, that way I'm not afraid to enjoy using them in the real world. NO trailer queens.