Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello Fellow Captains, Mates and Pirates.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello Fellow Captains, Mates and Pirates.

New member, and just purchased a 1974 Uniflite Sports Sedan 31'. The boat has great bones but the interior is strictly 1970's bright orange counter tops accompanied by blue, yellow, white wall paper. Pretty scary stuff. So I need to remodel the interior. I want to replace the vinyl headliner with something more durable, maybe plastic or fiberglass material trimmed in teak. I intend to use formica in the galley, table top, etc. But don't know what to use on the bulkheads. Any suggestions? I thought about teak veneer but the application comes with too many warning signs. It would look great but i have no veneer experience, is it really that difficult? I also thought about using formica or some kind of plastic/fiberglass material to cover the bulkheads but I worry about the substrate wood being able to breath. Has any one remodeled their boat? Any suggestions, recommendations are appreciated.

Thank you,
    Captain Zeek

Uniflite Work...

Cap't Zeek -

Sounds like a great boat that just need a cosmetic makeover...the 31's were probably Uniflite's most famous design--very solid cruisers!

Does the boat already have a teak theme going inside the cabin, in terms of existing woodwork? If so, I guess you're wedded to teak trim here and there, but if the interior is almost entirely painted surfaces now, perhaps you could consider wood trim and veneer layers that aren't teak...?