Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Glass advice on 58 Glasspar Delmar

Hi all;

Name is Troy Stone, new to this site. Looks like a good one - have seen some good input here!

I replaced stringers, floor, and glass quite successfully in a Tahiti style boat before, so I have some experience.

My scenario:

The floor and stringers are sound in my boat (it was in a dry barn in CA for many years), but I want to reglass the floor as it is worn to the fiber in several places. The boat I did before was low profile. This one has high sides on it, which seem very thin. In fact, toward the back of the boat on either side of the passenger area the sides actually have some flex and cant be more than an 8th of an inch. The sides seem to be plastic, not fiberglass and in fact I thought I heard that these boats are actually plastic and glass.

My question(s):

When I reglass the floors, should I glass up the insides of the boat to add some stiffness or are they supposed to flex and woiuld the rigid glass not be good?

I noticed a thread here about foam filling the bilge. I dont know if this boat even has one - there isnt' a pump but there is a small drain plug in the back. There is a small brass "nut" flush in the floor which seems to indicate there is a void. Should I concern myself with foaming the bilge?

THanks all, looking forward to getting this boat rolling, er, floating!

Troy

Welcome Troy! Sounds like a great project. Hang tight, I'm sure someone will come around soon with some advice for your Glasspar. The weathers getting cooler around here so it's slowed down a bit. Boater hibernation I guess...
    Mark
    Silverdale, WA.
    1956 BellBoy Express 16

Comment

Originally posted by TRoy Stone, post: 7117
      Hi all;

Name is Troy Stone, new to this site. Looks like a good one - have seen some good input here!

I replaced stringers, floor, and glass quite successfully in a Tahiti style boat before, so I have some experience.

My scenario: