Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Avatars, Profile Pictures, and Your Profile Setings

Collapse
X
Collapse

The new for software is vBulletin. vBulletin is a complex program. It can do a lot of things, but it is not the same as Xenforo, our last software.

I should point out that I am a vBulletin Developer. I did not push for the change to vBulletin, although I think in the long term it was a good move. I've been working on it for almost five years, and there still are occasionally places where I scratch my head and say "I didn't know you could make it do THAT." One of the issues it that there are thousands (l'm not exaggerating) of ways to tweak it and make it different from other vBulletin installations. So we're still figuring out the best way to set the knobs and switches for us.

So some questions I would like to answer:
    • What is an avatar, and how do I set it?
    • What is a profile picture, and how do I set it?

Note that these instructions only work if you are logged in and are at least a member.

On many posts you will see something like this:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	avatars.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	40.2 KB
ID:	62341Click image for larger version

Name:	upload_profile_pict.jpg
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	62346

Those are avatars. If you click on my avatar, you'll be taken to my profile page: On the upper left you'll see this:

Name:	profile_pict.jpg
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	62342

That upper left image is my profile picture. To upload one of them, I go to my profile settings. If you are using the default style, it's here:

Name:	default_profile_link.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	7.5 KB
ID:	62343
    I happen to like the elegance red fluid style. (In another article I'll show how to change that). For the elegance styles the link is here:

Name:	profile_settings_red.jpg
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	62344

If you click that link, you are taken to your profile page. The left part looks something like this:

Name:	profsettings_left.jpg
Size:	28.7 KB
ID:	62345