Evinrude 85

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Evinrude 85

Please forgive this question, I'm a beginner. It's about an old Evinrude 85 (V-4), recently checked and serviced by a pro.

How can someone achieve any range with this motor? It drinks gas pretty quickly. I have just two plastic six gallon tanks, but I'm pretty sure that isn't going to cut it.

For example, let's say you were going on a Puget Sound trip of 30 miles or so.

1.) In a 15 foot fiberglass boat, What sort of fuel tank setup would you guys use to go some distance without worrying about having to call the Coast Guard?

2.) Would you plan to hop from one marina gas pump to the next? If so, how do you plan and organize this sort of thing? I don't know how you locate them, if you phone ahead to see if they are open, if they keep regular hours, or what....

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Don't want to rain on your parade and know there are others in the club that can give you a much better answer than I. But, my 2 cents, I'd try to find another motor. You really shouldn't need that much motor to push a 15 foot boat and those V-4s weren't known for economy. If you have the bucks to spend, I'd suggest a newer, smaller outboard. A four cycle if you plan to use it on lakes as we are seeing restrictions on some 2 cycle outboards. I run a 1986 2 cylinder, 2 cycle 50 hp. outboard on a 17 foot Skagit and get satisfactory performance. I have two 12 gallon tanks on my boat and so far, that has been enough fuel for any trips I've taken. While I'd be happy to run a late model 4 cycle outboard, I can't justify the economics even if I could afford a new motor. You need to think about how much you'll use the boat after the newness wears off and how likely gas prices will go above the $5 mark, and the price of 2 cycle oil before making those kinds of decisions.
    There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness.":shocked4:

1957 Skagit Express Cruiser Rosario

Comment