Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New user with '61 Dorsett Catalina

Hello to all,

I've been stopping by this site for a couple of years now to browse and learn a few things about classic boats, and have finally picked up a Dorsett Catalina project. The boat was only a few miles from home and I really couldn't pass it up.

I restore vintage cars for a living but don't have much experience with boats, or fiberglass, for that matter. I'm looking forward to learning a few things as I tear into the Catalina.

I'm guessing that floor replacement will lead to stringers and stringers will lead to transom work, too.
    There's lots of fantastic info on this site and I feel like I've found half of the answers to my questions, already, just reading through old threads.
    Mike

Welcome Mike. You found the right place
    There are enough of here that can walk you through pretty much any step of the way of doing a complete restoration.
    Several of us used to do the boat restorations for a living. Some of us have experience on certain products. I like the Fiberlay Laminating Fiberglass resin and then the Westsystem Epoxy resin myself but lots of others to choose from. Never had any of that fail me.

So, to start off with, Pictures, need pictures.

I hope to have enough body left for one more resto and that is my 61 Dorsett Catalina.
    Only thing is I have to put another shop together.
    Helmar Joe Johanesen
    1959 Skagit 20ft Offshore, 1959 Skagit 16ft Skimaster,
    1961 17ft Dorsett Catalina.1958 Uniflite 17 ft
    Outboards: 2.5 Bearcats, 3 50hp White shadow Mercs
    2 40hp Johnsons, several smaller Old kickers for a total of 12

Our Sister club
    http://www.goldenstateglassics.com

Oh, and Where is Robin Hood when you need him??

Comment

Thanks, I know that there are a lot of knowledgeable and experienced people in the club and I look forward to contributing my help where I can.

[ATTACH]16313[/ATTACH] [ATTACH]16314[/ATTACH]