Controls for twin setup?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Controls for twin setup?

I'm sure there is a simple answer for this but I cant seem to find it...

I'm planning on running twin 57 Johnsons (35HP) and need a set of shift/throttle controls. Not having much luck finding anything vintage that looks like it will work. Any suggestions? I'd like to keep it period correct if possible.

I like the newer style which have the shift/throttle built into a single lever but I'm not sure if they made them that way in the 50's.

I'm half way there though. I do have the steering figured out...

Thanks!
    Mark
    Silverdale, WA.
    1956 BellBoy Express 16

out of control

Mark- I have a Shipmaster dual control setup, looks like a Simplex but double thickness with four levers. Last I checked all cables were good with OMC ends, am not sure of year but has to be early 60's at the latest. Which of your boats (length of cables?) are your twins going on? and which side is the helm on? Will add picture to this post manana.

We hope to pickup the sister to your '56 BB16 from Marty next week.

Comment

Hi Greg,

The Johnsons are going on the BB16. Its a very tight fit but they should work out great. Not sure of the exact cable lengths yet. Your simplex controls are similar to others I have spotted on ebay with the 4 levers and may be my only choice if I stick with period correct. I was hoping to find a two lever setup that combined the shift and throttle into each separate lever. I suspect that they werent made that way that early though...

If I remember right your 55 BB16 is pretty unique with a single oval window on the front. Can't wait to see it finished! I really like these old BB Express cruisers...

What started as a "freshening up" on my BB16 has turned into a major re-restoration.. The deeper I go the more I find that I want to fix or change. I'm still scratching my head trying to figure out how I ended up with the boat completely stripped...