Transom Repair

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transom Repair

Howdy I'm a newbie with a soft trasom. It's been very helpfull to read past threads, thanks for participating in this site.
    I.m working on a' 84 21' Arrowglass and by what I'm finding this seems to be a light weight boat, stringers were just laid up onto the hull with 3-4" of fabric up the sides, not over the top of 3/4" boards. Every example I've seen has been foam or wood enclosed. so far I am planning to use marine ply ,it fits snug and epoxy it in.
    Transom is 1 3/4" with a plywood core, fitted with a I/O drive unit. It's soft for about a 8" tall X 14" area to starboard of the I/O cutout. But only 3/4" deep, two pieces of 3/4" ply apparently were sandwitched.
    Beyond this 3/4" depth and this oval area I find solid wood.
    I've gotten this far because I was investigating a piece of soft floor.
    I guess I've just needed to chat, I've just printed West System's Fiberglass Boat Repair & Maintence guide as I have been typing so Ive got some studying to do.
    Any opinions on Arrowglass boats?
    Two months ago I told my wife " just two weekends and I'll be shaking her down". Well it's kept me out of the bars. Just kidding.

Originally posted by Paul, post: 12171
    Howdy I'm a newbie with a soft trasom. It's been very helpfull to read past threads, thanks for participating in this site.
    I.m working on a' 84 21' Arrowglass and by what I'm finding this seems to be a light weight boat, stringers were just laid up onto the hull with 3-4" of fabric up the sides, not over the top of 3/4" boards. Every example I've seen has been foam or wood enclosed. so far I am planning to use marine ply ,it fits snug and epoxy it in.
    Transom is 1 3/4" with a plywood core, fitted with a I/O drive unit. It's soft for about a 8" tall X 14" area to starboard of the I/O cutout. But only 3/4" deep, two pieces of 3/4" ply apparently were sandwitched.