Paint removal or Paint over?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paint removal or Paint over?

Hi - I'm wondering what some of your experiences have been with painting and/or restoring gelcoat on some of these classic boats I've seen here. I'm starting with the Skagit 20 which has been completely primed and painted with some kind of bulletproof while marine paint. I scratched a bit of it off to uncover some of the original white and red gelcoat here [ame]http://i1065.photobucket.com/albums/u382/SNAP_Victoria/Skagit%20Boat%20Restoration/IMG_0818.jpg[/ame]

which are the colours that I'd like to restore her to. However I don't know the condition of the original gel coat and at the same time we are talking about a lot of paint to remove. I"m interested to know what some of you have done - painted over or stripped off the old paint and what the results or pitfalls were of your choice.

Chris, I'm not an expert on the subject, but here is what I did. The topsides on my Seafair looked like it was painted with a broom. Runs and sags everywhere. I decided to take it all off. It would have been impossible to get a smooth surface out of that old paint. Plus I was certain the old paint would fail over time.

I used Citristrip to remove the old paint. Non toxic, plus it smells good. It's a messy job. After I got down to the gel coat, I roughed that up before applying the primer.

At the time, I didn't have any place inside to paint, so one of the guys in the club sprayed the primer and paint. Turned out real nice.

Do a search on the forum. There are several discussions on preparing for, and applying the paint. By the way, nice find. Have fun with it.
    Steve Kiesel
    1959 Glasspar Seafair Sedan

Comment