Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Offering electrical help

greetings:

I am a retired electrical engineer and have restored many old boats. If you have some electrical issue that have you stumped or just need some basic info..drop me a note and I will see what I can do for you (most help is FREE...big help will cost you a few beers!)
    1963 Fiber Form Cuddy***
    1960 Hi Laker 15'**
    1957 Skagit 20 express*
    1955 uniflight 16' sportboat*
    *= previous completed projects
    **=finished and still using
    ***= in progress

Transducer wire

QUESTION ASKED:
    Just had my transom replaced and the friend who did the job asked me about my depth sounder. To do the job quickly required cutting the wire to the transducer. I have another depth sounder with a thru hull transducer so I told him to cut. Now I'm faced with a hole in my dash where the instrument was or replacing the wiring. Seems to me I have read you can't splice that wire. Is that the case? Shall I just toss the transducer and leave a gauge in the dash to fill the hole?
    Thanks for being there for those of us who haven't the foggiest idea about electricity except how to turn on lights and appliances!
    1963 Fiber Form Cuddy***
    1960 Hi Laker 15'**
    1957 Skagit 20 express*
    ***= in progress

Comment

Cutting the wire will be ok, you may see a minimal loss in performance.

A depth sounder wire uses a coax cable (coax is is a shielded cable where the inside wire is encased with a plastic cover, then surrounded wire a wire sheathing). The outer sheathing which looks like a woven wire mesh acts as both a ground and a shield to stop electrical interference.