Glass Craft

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Glass Craft

image.jpgHello, my name is Chuck Long, i'm from Spokane Wa. I recently picked up a 1959 Glass Craft Crown Imperial. It needs a lot of work and I am just getting started. Similar model to fellow member (Karl). Beautiful restoration Karl!! Came with the 70 hp Mercury dockbuster. Got rid of that right away, love the old inline Mercs! Hate the dockbusters though!!! No neutral, Carl K. WHAT WERE YOU THINKING! Boat has left hand steering (common with the old Mercs and Scott's as they had counter-clockwise rotating propellers and the driver's weight was supposed to counter the propeller torque so the boat wouldn't list to the right. I picked up a 1967(?) Johnson 100hp and I'm wondering if I need to relocate the steering wheel to the right side. I'm hoping some of you members have some experience or insight.image.jpgimage.jpg

Love those cleats. The whole rig looks pretty good. Great find.
    Steve Kiesel
    1959 Glasspar Seafair Sedan

Comment

Chuck, congratulations on the glass craft. It is a really fun boat to drive. With the rounded hull, it really leans into the corners but yet it still doesn't bite. I left mine with port side steering and it doesn't affect driving it all. I have a 85 horse 62 Merc on it Please feel free to message or call me if you have any questions on your restore.
      Attached Files
      17' Johnson Runabout (1964) Completed
      18' GlassCraft Imperial (1959) Done!
      19' Campion Bowrider (1999) Great family ski/tow boat
      25' Skagit (1960) Two of them. What am I thinking?
      14' Axtell Aquacraft (1950ish)
      14' Stilleto

Comment